New FPP Board At-Large Representatives Elected

Mar 01, 2017

Dr. Will Chapman (Surgery) and Dr. Kimberly Quayle (Pediatrics) were recently elected to serve a 3-year term on the FPP Board of Directors.  Dr. Chapman was re-elected and will be serving his second term. Dr. Quayle replaces Dr. Joan Luby (Psychiatry), who served from 2014 through 2016.

 William C. Chapman, MD, FACS, received his medical degree from the Medical University of South Carolina. He then completed his surgical residency at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee, which was followed by a fellowship in Hepatobiliary Surgery and Liver Transplantation at King’s College Hospital in London. He subsequently returned to Vanderbilt University as a Faculty member, remaining at Vanderbilt from 1992 until 2002, at which time he was recruited to Washington University in St. Louis as Chief of the Section of Abdominal Transplantation. In 2007 Dr. Chapman was asked to assume the Directorship of the Division of General Surgery in addition to his role as Chief of the Transplant Section, and in 2008 he was appointed Surgical Director of the Washington University/Barnes Transplant Center. Dr. Chapman’s research interests include an active basic science research laboratory investigating ischemia-reperfusion injury, and he is actively involved in clinical research. His clinical interests include liver transplantation and complex hepatobiliary surgery and he has helped to build the very strong BJH programs across General Surgery.

Kimberly Quayle, MD, is Professor of Pediatrics, Interim Chief, Division of Pediatric Emergency Medicine (PEM), at Washington University School of Medicine and Medical Director, Emergency Services at St. Louis Children’s Hospital. Dr. Quayle received her medical degree from Washington University School of Medicine and completed residency and chief residency at St. Louis Children’s Hospital.  Dr. Quayle followed residency with PEM Fellowship at Washington University School of Medicine / St. Louis Children’s Hospital.  She joined the faculty in Pediatric Emergency Medicine in 1994.  She currently serves as Medical Staff President at St. Louis Children’s Hospital, as the upcoming Chair of the Credentials Subcommittee of the Children’s Medical Executive Committee, as Associate Medical Director for Trauma Services at St. Louis Children’s Hospital, and as a representative for the Pediatric Clinical Expert Council for BJC HealthCare.  In addition, she is a member of the PEM Chief’s Subcommittee with the American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Emergency Medicine (PEMNAC).  Dr. Quayle has twice received the Pediatric Clinical Educator Award, Washington University in St. Louis, Emergency Medicine Residents.  Dr. Quayle’s research interests include minor head injuries in children, intra-abdominal injuries and fluid therapy and cerebral injury in children with diabetic ketoacidosis.  She also is involved in Quality Improvement and Safety projects within the Emergency Department and hospital-wide.

“Faculty-at-large members represent the views of a wide range of active clinicians, investigators and teachers,” says Jim Crane, MD, CEO of the Faculty Practice Plan. “They bring an important perspective to the board’s deliberations and decision-making process. We are delighted to have Will and Kim as members and look forward to their active participation.”

There are currently six faculty-at-large members on the FPP Board. In addition to the two newly elected representatives, they are:  Ellen Lockhart, MD (Anesthesiology), Vamsi Narra, MD (Radiology), Brian Nussenbaum, MD (Otolaryngology) and Anitha Vijayan, MD (Internal Medicine).

The full FPP Board of Directors membership is composed of:

Heads of clinical departments:
George Macones, MD (Ob/Gyn), Chair
Craig Buchman, MD, (Otolaryngology)
Ralph Dacey, Jr., MD (Neurosurgery)
Timothy Eberlein, MD (Surgery)
Alex Evers, MD (Anesthesiology)
Victoria Fraser, MD (Internal Medicine)
Dennis Hallahan, MD (Radiation Oncology)
David Holtzman, MD (Neurology)
Todd Margolis, MD, PhD (Ophthalmology)
Regis O’Keefe, MD, PhD (Orthopedics), Vice-Chair
Gary Silverman, MD, PhD (Pediatrics)
Skip Virgin, MD (Pathology & Immunology)
Richard Wahl, MD (Radiology)
Chuck Zorumski, MD (Psychiatry)

Head of Emergency Medicine:
Brent Ruoff, MD (Emergency Medicine)

A representative from the basic science departments:
John Cooper, MD, PhD (Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics)

Six representatives from the clinical faculty-at-large:
Will Chapman, MD (Surgery)
Ellen Lockhart, MD (Anesthesiology)
Vamsi Narra, MD (Radiology)
Brian Nussenbaum, MD (Otolaryngology)
Kimberly Quayle, MD (Pediatrics)
Anitha Vijayan, MD (Internal Medicine)

Dean /Executive Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs:
David Perlmutter, MD

Chief Executive Officer:
James P. Crane, MD

Hospital representatives:
Bob Cannon (BJH)
Rick Liekweg (BJC)
Joan Magruder (SLCH)

Non-Voting Members:
Carolyn Baum, PhD (Occupational Therapy)
Sam Bhayani, MD (FPP Chief Medical Officer)
Gammon Earhart, PhD (Physical Therapy)